Frustration turned Blessing

Goldfinch Pair

Hi.  I haven’t posted here for a very long time.  But, in the last few weeks, I have gone through some amazing experiences with the Lord.  I want to share them with you!  So, here is the first one.

A couple of weeks ago, I had received a notice from the DMV that my driver’s license was up for renewal by the end of this year. From the experiences of others I know of waiting in long lines or months to make an appointment, I thought I should go online and make an appointment now. Of all the DMV offices within a 45 minute drive of my house, not a single one had an appointment this year (and it was August). I made a few feeble attempts to communicate with the assistants to the director of Motor Vehicles, but never got any reasonable explanation of why this is so. (Other than not enough people available to work)

At the same time as getting my driver’s license renewed, I decided to have it be a Real ID as well, so I looked up all the documentation you need for that. The one that was challenging was “proving a name change”. I had my marriage license to B which showed my previous marriage name changed to my current last name. I had my divorce certificate when my previous marriage  ended. And of course I had my birth certificate and all the other stuff one needed. I do not have a passport.

My family and I had decided to go  to the coast just before school went back in session.  I checked the several DMV offices down there as well just in case I could go then.  Alas, no such luck.

Two days before we were to leave, I checked the DMV offices down there again and lo and behold there was ONE available time slot on Monday at the Jacksonville office! That is only a 30 minute drive or so from the condo. I took the appointment.

The day of the appointment, I got up, drove, and got there at 10AM. (My appointment was at 10:15). I went straight up to the line by the registration desk and waited a few minutes for my turn. When I was called up, the clerk went over all my documents but said that I had nothing to prove my name change from my maiden name to the last name of my first marriage. I got upset and asked her what should I do? She went to go talk to a supervisor, but that was to no avail.

I was thinking to myself: Who knew when I could get another appointment and how do I get the proper documentation to prove the change from my maiden name?  If I could mail/request a copy of that marriage license and however long it took to receive that, I would have what I needed.  But how long would that take?   I was beside myself.

But wait! She said “you were married in Onslow county?”  We were.  She said that “the marriage license I had was a different one than is usually issued. And, most licenses show the maiden name on it. The Onslow county seat courthouse is right here in Jacksonville!” (and then I remembered that is where B and I got our license 27 years ago). I was nervous but hopeful that I would be able to get that. I am not comfortable anymore driving around places I do not know. She said she would hold my appointment spot and gave me a “ticket” that would be good through Wednesday!  She said “Don’t lose that!”

When I got outside, I called my daughter to see if she would bring me back to Jacksonville later that day (She was working and on a conference call). She had me hold on and said, “Mom, the courthouse is only 4 miles away from you…… I will talk you there.”

I drove to the courthouse, had to park a ways away and walked to the Register of Deeds office. No one was in line, so I was helped immediately. The lady looked up my marriage license from the one I already had. She said the one I had was the short form. When she looked up the long form, it had my maiden name on it! So, I filled out the request form she handed me, paid the $10 and she printed it out for me.

I went straight back to the DMV office, they gave me a number and after about a 10 minute wait, I was called back and got my temporary Real ID driver’s license.  The permanent one will come in the mail.  Needless to say, relief was showering over me.

I had planned so carefully, I had thought, to ensure that I had all the documentation I needed to accomplish this task.  And, when things don’t go as well as I THINK they should, I get anxious and to be honest, I was almost hysterical.  I know, that was a little of an over-reaction, but it’s what happens when I don’t stop and pray about something.

But then and now, I see why the Lord made an appointment open up for me in Jacksonville exactly when I would be able to go there. He knew I needed to go to that courthouse in order to get my Real ID.  Otherwise, had I gone somewhere else, I would have had to…. who knows what?

How awesome is our God???!!!!! 

Phillipians 4:6-7       Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God;  and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

AMEN!

Watching the grandkids

PS.  I did have a good time at the beach!

Sunset over the Salt Marsh

Overlooking the Salt Marsh

 

If you click on a picture, it will open in another tab.

 

 

 

About forrealone

If you hear the birds in the morning and smile, greet each day with a bowed head of thanksgiving, and believe Our Creator is a loving, forgiving Father; you are a lot like me! I have lived all over the world and am now settled, (or should I say nestled?) In beautiful North Carolina. I spend my days in careful contemplation of all that is around me but most especially my precious Father. I have a beautiful family whom I love and who loves me. And, don't even get me started about my grandchildren! If you would like to contact me, my e-mail address is: forrealone@earthlink.net
This entry was posted in Creation, Faith, God, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment