I Am With You Always

It was my cooking day.  That means I go to the local produce stand and the grocery store and buy fresh, fresh vegetables and go home and cook up a storm!  I can be hours in the kitchen. Thursdays always smell good at my house!  (Just sayin’).  I share with neighbors or family or freeze for winter time when fresh local produce is limited to fall/winter crops.

Onions, garlic, ginger, carrots, celery, cabbages, yellow squash, zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower and black beans!! Plus secret herbs and spices. Ha ha

Hurricane Idalia, then a tropical storm, was heading our way.  Always erring on the side of caution considering all that could happen, I wanted to fill up the gas cans, make sure I had plenty of jugs and buckets of water in the house and get whatever groceries I needed. I made sure I got plenty of fresh vegetables and fruit.

Once I got back from the grocery store, I started steaming, sauteing, and chopping. Every so often, I would have to stop and go rest in my recliner with some heat on my back. Standing for long periods of time takes a toll on me and breaks are not a luxury, they are needed!

While I was sitting in my chair, I kept hearing the well pump coming on and I was not aware of anything running that uses water.  This just was not normal – usually is indicative of a leak under the house. Hmmmm. It’s kind of raining out and maybe I’m wrong, I thought. (Actually I was avoiding reality for the moment).

Shortly after that, I went back into my bedroom and while I was in there, I heard a swishing or some kind of strange, unrecognizable sound. I thought maybe it was the air moving in the ducts and maybe something was caught in there?

A while later, I heard the pump come on again and I sighed loudly in reply.  I hurried back into my bedroom bathroom to make sure I hadn’t left the faucet running or something. I heard that swishing sound again and it was, and it definitely sounded like, a water leak, for sure.  There is no mistaking the hissing sound of water spraying onto plastic.  (My crawlspace has a new moisture barrier – heavy gauge plastic on the walls and the dirt floor).

I kind of got into a panic. Until He calmed me down. I took a deep breath and took comfort in the knowledge that He was with me and everything would be all right. I called my lawn guy Gary– he and his wife have always been very kind and helpful to me and always told me – call if you need us! So, I did and he came right over. I grabbed my flashlight, unlocked the entry door to go under the house (it is a tall crawlspace, not a basement) and I went to where the chain was so I could pull on the light. I shined the flashlight back to where we could both hear water spraying, and the water drops glittered in its beam.  There was a little stream coming down the plastic, forming a puddle at the lowest point of the floor.  With a storm coming, I have to admit I was a little unnerved.  “The Lord is good,” I thought, “and everything will be all right, remember???”

Many years ago, my husband had piped a single line of cold water to my kitchen sink, separate from the rest of the house. There is the main shutoff for the whole house, and then there is a second shutoff for everything except that cold water line to the kitchen.  We found that second shutoff and the sound of the leak stopped. Hallelujah!!!!

I had very recently found an honest, kind and Christian plumber. He is very experienced, a bit pricey but fair, and there is no one else I would even consider calling. I texted him to see if he had any time available so he could help me out. He texted me back and said that he could come the next afternoon unless I needed him sooner. I explained that I have cold water in the kitchen.  Which meant I have drinking water, “spit bath” water, brushing teeth water and water to pour down my toilet when I need it. (HA HA). He said he would be here that next day.

WOW!   This happened all in ONE day!!!!!    Father calmed me down again(see my previous post) where I would usually be quite anxious under these circumstances.  I was able to get my shopping done, get gas, fill buckets and do all my cooking.  Once I realized I had a leak, He made sure that Gary was available to come over right away to help me shut the water off before it got dark. He made sure my plumber would be available the next day. He made sure that my husband had part of the house set up to give me water in the kitchen all these years later.  (It still hurts to think about him; I miss him).  To say that I was/am humbled by how Our Father looks after us every moment would be a serious understatement.

And what part of “I am with you always” (Matthew 28:20) can we not understand? These last several weeks have proven me to that without a doubt, my Lord Jesus is always with me…….

Deuteronomy 31:6  Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.

Matthew 28:20   ….. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

I will never doubt His presence any moment of my life.  I know He is always here with me and for me, ever desiring to bless me as I walk with Him along this path He has shown me and all of us who turn to Him and reach up to Him and lean on Him and trust in Him.  May He bless me with the ability to turn to Him immediately when I am troubled.  On my own, I am a wreck or one waiting to happen!

Proverbs 3:5-6  Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. 

Isaiah 40:31   but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

And, just to share one of many pictures from my yard……..

My lovely Bell Garden

About forrealone

If you hear the birds in the morning and smile, greet each day with a bowed head of thanksgiving, and believe Our Creator is a loving, forgiving Father; you are a lot like me! I have lived all over the world and am now settled, (or should I say nestled?) In beautiful North Carolina. I spend my days in careful contemplation of all that is around me but most especially my precious Father. I have a beautiful family whom I love and who loves me. And, don't even get me started about my grandchildren! If you would like to contact me, my e-mail address is: forrealone@earthlink.net
This entry was posted in Faith, God, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment